COVID Update: We remain committed to you during your time of need. Available 24/7 via phone or video conferencing.

Florida's Premier Boutique Personal Injury Firm
Texting while driving

Personal Injury Protection in Florida: Are You Covered?

Injuries, property damage, and other significant losses may occur as a result of an auto accident. To recover these losses, victims of car accidents must file claims with an insurance provider, either their own or the at-fault driver’s.

The state of Florida is one of ten states that requires personal injury protection (PIP) insurance for drivers. While all Florida drivers must have PIP insurance, not everyone understands what this coverage entails.

What Is Personal Injury Protection?

Florida is a no-fault auto insurance state; this means that, in the event of a car accident, an injured driver must first file for damages with his or her own insurance company.

PIP coverage pays for any medical bills and lost wages in the event of a car accident. The amount of coverage is usually up to $10,000. Florida implemented no-fault insurance and PIP coverage to reduce the need to prove fault in a car accident claim.

What Does PIP Cover?

PIP coverage is limited. Depending on the insurance company, a driver may only have up to $10,000 in coverage.

In Florida, PIP covers:

  • Lost wages from missing work due to injuries
  • Death benefits such as funeral expenses
  • Medical expenses such as ambulance, medication, and hospitalization costs

Other coverage provided by insurance companies usually covers automobile repairs, so PIP coverage does not typically cover those losses.

Why Do I Need Personal Injury Protection?

Under Florida law, all drivers must have PIP coverage included in their insurance. If a driver is unsure whether they have PIP, they should contact the lawyers at Ginnis & Krathen, P.A., immediately, so that we can assist them in determining what coverage is available to them as a result of their involvement in a motor vehicle crash.

Categories